QIPCO British Champions Series

The World's Finest Flat Racing

If you enjoy world class sporting action, the QIPCO British Champions Series is for you. Staged for the first time in 2011, it incorporates the 35 top Flat races in the British horseracing calendar, showcasing the best Flat racing on the planet.

The 2016 Series will take place over 26 racedays, launching on Saturday 30 April with the QIPCO 2000 Guineas on Newmarket’s Rowley Mile course and climaxing on QIPCO British Champions Day at Ascot on Saturday 15 October.

The Series comprises five championship categories, namely Sprint, Mile, Middle Distance, Long Distance and Fillies & Mares.

Each features the seven highest-rated races in that category, including no less than 12 of the world's top 20 races, and brings together the finest horses, jockeys and trainers to compete for the sport's most prestigious prizes.

The Series is staged at the country's ten leading racecourses - Ascot, Doncaster, Epsom Downs, Goodwood, Haydock Park, Newbury, Newmarket’s July Course, Newmarket’s Rowley Mile, Sandown Park and York.

It encompasses all British Flat racing’s key festivals, including the QIPCO Guineas Festival, the Investec Derby Festival, Royal Ascot, the Piper Heidsieck July Festival, Qatar Goodwood Festival, the Welcome to Yorkshire Ebor Festival and the Ladbrokes St Leger Meeting.

QIPCO British Champions Day, the climax to the Series, is Britain's richest raceday with over £5 million in prize money.

It represents a fantastic opportunity for the stars of the Flat racing season to compete on one of the world's greatest stages on one momentous day and the 2012 event was hailed by many as one of the greatest days of Flat racing ever staged in this country, with Frankel ending his career in superlative fashion in the QIPCO Champion Stakes. This was followed up by the success of his half-brother Noble Mission in the 2014 running of the race.

In 2015, icons Muhaarar and Solow confirmed their champion status in emphatic style to bow out their seasons as Series superstars. Gallic warrior Solow is set to return in 2016 in a bid to become the first horse since Frankel to win twice on QIPCO British Champions Day.

The Stars

Find out more about the stars of the British Champions Series

The Stars

  • Ascot Racecourse
  • Doncaster Racecourse
  • Goodwood Racecourse
  • Newbury Racecourse
  • York Racecourse
  • Epsom Downs Racecourse
  • Haydock Park Racecourse
  • Newmarket Racecourse
  • Sandown Park Racecourse