Loading content…

Silvestre De Sousa

  • 2019 Series win-2nd-3rd - -
  • 2019 Total prize money £

Silvestre De Sousa won his first jockeys’ championship in 2015. Few could begrudge him the title after his agonising near-miss in 2011, when he ended just four winners behind Paul Hanagan.

The 2015 title race had been billed as a match between Ryan Moore and Richard Hughes, but the former missed a chunk of the season with a neck injury, while the latter retired halfway through the campaign to concentrate on his training career.

That left the door open for De Sousa, who had been a 33-1 chance at the start of the season. He chalked up 132 winners, with Hanagan and William Buick (both 96) ending up being his closest pursuers.

His biggest win was aboard David Elsworth’s Arabian Queen in the Juddmonte International Stakes. De Sousa caused quite an upset as he steered the 50-1 shot home ahead of Golden Horn, the Derby winner, who was the odds-on favourite.

De Sousa also partnered Fields Of Athenry to third place in the final classic of the season, the Ladbrokes St Leger.

The youngest of ten brothers and sisters, De Sousa grew up in Sao Paulo and was a leading apprentice in his native country, where he recorded 82 wins before moving to Ireland to ride out for Dermot Weld.

He moved across the Irish Sea to link up with David Nicholls in 2004 and notched his first success in Britain on New Year’s Day 2006 at Southwell.

As well as becoming the first Brazilian to ride in the 2000 Guineas in 2007, De Sousa has also tasted Derby success as he triumphed on Antonios in the Indian version in 2009.

His superb campaign in 2011, headed by a pair of Royal Ascot wins, helped secure him a job as one of the main jockeys riding for Sheikh Mohammed’s Godolphin operation in 2012.

He was the main jockey for trainer Saeed bin Suroor and enjoyed his first British Group 1 victory and first QIPCO British Champions Series success with Farhh in the 2013 JLT Lockinge Stakes and followed that with victory on Ahzeemah in the Weatherbys Hamilton Insurance Lonsdale Cup at York.

He then rode the biggest victory of his career when bringing Farhh home victorious in the QIPCO Champion Stakes at Ascot on QIPCO British Champions Day.

De Sousa’s association with Godolphin ended at the finish of 2014, when Sheikh Mohammed turned to Buick and James Doyle. It did not take De Sousa long to show the split has left no mark.

He was runner-up to Jim Crowley in the 2016 jockeys’ title (again partnering 132 winners) before reclaiming his crown in 2017; when hereached 133 winners in mid-September and won the Doncaster Cup aboard Desert Skyline.

De Sousa is favourite to win again in 2018 and reminded everyone that he is also a man for the biggest of stages, finishing runner-up on 33/1 chance Salouen, in the Coronation Cup, and 20/1 Dee Ex Bee in the Investec Derby 24 hours later.

QIPCO British Champions Series Victories

Year Race

BCS Career statistics

Year Wins-2nd-3rd Prize money Group 1 wins Archived results


5 hrs
RT @GBRacing: Don't forget to 👏👏👏 At 8pm the nation will show our appreciation for the NHS and all key workers during this time #clapforou