How the Ranking Works

The jockey and trainer rankings are based on points earned during the 35 race series with 20 for a win, 10 for second and 5 for third place. If there is a tie, the number of winners and, if there is still a tie, the number of second places will be taken into account.

The horse ranking tables that are featured - an overall table and one for each of the five QIPCO British Champions Series race categories (Sprint, Mile, Middle Distance, Long Distance and Fillies & Mares) - utlilise the horses’ individual performance ratings in QIPCO British Champions Series races this season.

These performance ratings are determined by the British Horseracing Authority handicappers and the best one achieved by a horse in a BCS race this year is the one that is shown in the first "BCS rating" column. These are the ratings upon which the horses are ranked.

A horse must have finished in the first three places in a QIPCO British Champions Series race in order to enter the relevant category ranking table. The performance ratings will show which horses have put up the best individual performances in the QIPCO British Champions Series this year.

  • Ascot Racecourse
  • Doncaster Racecourse
  • Goodwood Racecourse
  • Newbury Racecourse
  • York Racecourse
  • Epsom Downs Racecourse
  • Haydock Park Racecourse
  • Newmarket Racecourse
  • Sandown Park Racecourse