Back to articles

QIPCO British Champions Series Hall Of Fame to launch next week

21 Apr 2021

New award to celebrate Flat Racing's modern greats launches on Monday 26 April

QIPCO British Champions Series Hall Of Fame will launch next week ahead of the QIPCO Guineas Festival, to coincide with the 10th Anniversary of sponsorship of Britain’s Premiere Flat Racing.

The Hall Of Fame will be unveiled on 26 April with inaugural Hall Of Famers announced. The Hall of Fame will immortalise the Modern Greats of British Flat racing – human and equine – from 1970 onwards. Membership of the Hall of Fame will become one of the highest accolades within the sport, reflecting extraordinary achievements and contributions to British Flat racing, while providing a reason to celebrate horseracing’s most famous stars. 

New Hall of Famers will be inducted at two separate points during the Flat racing season: ahead of the QIPCO Guineas Festival at Newmarket (May) and QIPCO British Champions Day at Ascot (October), marking the beginning and end of the QIPCO British Champions Series.  

Inductions into the QIPCO British Champions Series Hall of Fame will be decided by an independent panel of horseracing experts, who will agree which horses and individuals are to be given the honour of being inducted. The panel will also agree an annual shortlist of horses to be put to the public vote, with the winning horse also joining the Hall of Fame in October each year. Members of the Hall of Fame judging panel for 2021/22 are:

  • Martin Mitchell, Former Tattersalls Bloodstock Director
  • Emma Berry, European Editor, Thoroughbred Daily News
  • Brough Scott, Racing Broadcaster and Journalist
  • Jamie Lynch, Racing Broadcaster and Journalist
  • James Delahooke, International Bloodstock Agent
  • Lydia Hislop, Racing Broadcaster and Journalist
  • Alan Byrne, Editor-in-Chief, Racing Post
  • Ruth Quinn, Racing Director, BHA

The Hall of Fame will exist online at, where a range of expertly-curated written, pictorial and video content will pay tribute to Hall of Famers, as well as figures of historical importance. While the Hall of Fame itself will focus on the Modern Greats of 1970 onwards, the website will also tell racing’s story, from its origins in the 17th century and up to today, highlighting the sport’s rich history and the contributions of the stars of yesteryear who laid the foundations for modern racing.