Loading content…

The Weatherbys Hamilton Lonsdale Cup

2.25pm York

  • Distance 2m 88y
  • Class 1
  • Group 2
  • Prize money £200,000


The Weatherbys Hamilton Insurance Lonsdale Cup, staged during the Welcome to Yorkshire Ebor Festival at York and the fourth long-distance event of the QIPCO British Champions Series, is clearly a race on the up.

It began as a relatively modest ‘listed race’ but was promoted to Group 3 status in 1998, then to its current classification of Group 2 in 2004. Today it is run over 2 miles and 88 yards (3,280 metres) and is open to three-year-olds and older horses.

Previous winners include Persian Punch, one of horseracing’s most popular stayers who was still racing aged 10, while Pat Eddery had a great record in the race, riding the winner on five victories. The last of those was on a horse called Celeric, one of three horses to win the race on two occasions (the horse was due to be named Celeriac but the name was mis-spelt on the registration papers).

The 2010 race was won by Frankie Dettori on Opinion Poll and the pair returned 12 months later for another success on the Knavesmire.

In the past two years, Dettori has clicked on the outstanding Stradivarius – each time sealing the Stayers Million offered by Weatherbys Hamilton.

Current leading jockey: Frankie Dettori, 6 wins (2006, 2010, 2011, 2015, 2018, 2019)
Current leading trainer: Mark Johnston, 3 wins (1995, 1997, 2000)

Previous winners

Year Horse Jockey Trainer Owner Prize money




No/Draw Horse/Jockey Age Form/Type BHA Rating Weight Trainer Odds


Stradivarius brings the house down at York in a thriller

John Gosden's star is all guts to just get the better of Spanish Mission in the Weatherbys Hamilton Lonsdale Cup

The word legend gets thrown about a lot in sport. However, when it comes to Stradivarius there can be no question he deserves the tag.

With his powers seemingly on the wain having disappointed in the Ascot Gold Cup, John Gosden’s star stayer showed not just his brilliance, but true grit and determination to win the Weatherbys Hamilton Lonsdale Cup at York.

A four runner affair, Stradivarius had a very worthy adversary in Spanish Mission, an extremely solid performer inthe staying division.

As the odds had suggested the race was between the two of them, having been led round by The Grand Visir they settled down to fight it out down the Knavesmire. And what a fight unfolded.

Locked together two furlongs out there was little to split them, and coming to the line Spanish Mission looked to be winning the arguement. However, Frankie Dettori pullled out all the stops and nearing the line managed to collar Andrew Balding’s charge in the final strides.

There will not be a bigger cheer at York this week as Dettori performed his trademark flying dismount. The roars came out from a hugely appreciative crowd treated to one of the great head-to-head battles this season.

It was Stradivarius’ 14th QIPCO British Champions Series win- the most by any horse since the Series’ inception.

John Gosden hinted that his stable star may go for the Doncaster Cup or head to QIPCO British Champions Day next.


Position Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
{position} {ownerName}

The Course

The city of York and its racecourse have a long and colourful history, involving – among others - the Vikings, the Romans, Pope John Paul II, highwayman Dick Turpin, and the Princess Royal.

  • Course plan
  • Course Intro

There’s no official record of the Vikings racing horses at York – they apparently preferred sacking and pillaging – but the Romans certainly did, during the reign of Emperor Severus 2,000 years ago. Severus, indeed, breathed his final breath in ‘Eboracum’ – that’s Roman for York. So did Turpin. He was hanged at the Knavesmire racecourse site in 1739. Pope John Paul II enjoyed a friendlier reception, lauded by 200,000 pilgrims at an open-air mass in 1982, while Princess Anne also enjoyed huge support when winning the Queen Mother’s Cup on Insular in 1988.

The North Yorkshire track, voted Racecourse of the Year in 2003, continues to attract the crowds today, with around 350,000 flocking through the gates each year. York comes into its own during the Welcome to Yorkshire Ebor Festival in August, the meeting boasting such races as the Juddmonte International Stakes, part of the QIPCO British Champions Series, and the totesport Ebor Handicap. Lester Piggott won the Ebor Handicap a record five times – the first in 1958 and the last 25 years later, in 1983.

Getting there

Tadcaster Rd York,
YO23 1EX

View on Google Maps

View fixtures