Loading content…

Ryan Moore

Ryan Moore QIPCO British Champions Series
  • 2022 Series win-2nd-3rd - -
  • 2022 Total prize money £


The three-time champion jockey Ryan Moore has won every British and Irish Classic Classic at least once and is the only rider to have won at least one race a year in the Champions Series since its inception in 2011

Moore’s haul of more than 2,300 winners in Britain includes more than 400 Group or Listed wins but it’s not just these shores that he has conquered. His bulging CV is also decorated by wins in the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe, Japan Cup, Melbourne Cup, Hong Kong Vase, Hong Kong Cup and Breeders’ Cup Turf.

Of the 35 present Champions Series races, he has won 25 of them.

Ryan Moore at QIPCO British Champions Day

Being the No 1 jockey at Ballydoyle since 2015 has helped, of course, but Ryan Moore had already enjoyed phenomenal success before being recruited by Aidan O’Brien and Coolmore.

The son of trainer Gary Moore, whose brothers Jamie and Josh ride over jumps, was champion apprentice in 2003 and was crowned champion jockey in 2006, 2008 and 2009.

His days of chasing the title look over with his haul of 71 winners in Britain in 2019 being his lowest tally since 2003. His highest annual tally was in 2013 when he rode 194 winners.

But Ryan Moore remains a pivotal player on the biggest days and a quick glance at some of his exploits in Champions Series emphasises that.

For example, in 2016 he rode the winners of ten of 35 Series races and the following year the tally rose to 12. An aggregate of nine more followed in 2018 and 2019, and last year he guided Love to fluent wins in the QIPCO 1000 Guineas and Oaks.

The brilliant horses that Moore has ridden is endless and include Minding, Love, Gleneagles, Churchill, St Nicholas Abbey, Order Of St George, Highland Reel, Workforce, Snow Fairy, Winter, Magical and Found. He is pictured above on Hydrangea after a win on Champions Day.

And, of course, there was Estimate, on whom he won the Gold Cup at Royal Ascot for Her Majesty The Queen in 2013. That win attracted coverage all over the world.